AIA Hong Kong

2023 – Honors and Awards

The AIA Hong Kong Chapter’s annual Honors & Awards Program celebrates outstanding work in architecture, interiors, urban design, and unbuilt projects undertaken by our Chapter’s members and other licensed architects practicing in Hong Kong, China and the Asia Pacific Region. Through these awards, we aspire to motivate our community to pursue excellence, embrace sustainability, and ultimately, leave a lasting positive impact on the world around us.

For the 2023 Honors & Awards program, five projects have been selected for recognition:

 Honor Award for Architecture:

  • Kingway Brewery Renovation, URBANUS

 Merit Award for Architecture:

 Merit Award for Urban Design:

  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Guangzhou), Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates

 Honor Awards for Open International:

 Sustainability Award:

This year’s Award recipients were selected by a five-person jury: Emily Grandstaff-Rice, FAIA – 2023 President, The American Institute of Architects; Vivian Lee, FAIA – Design Director, Gensler New York; Toh Tsun Lim, AIA – Principal, PEI Architects; Doreen Heng Liu – Founder & Principal, NODE Architecture & Urbanism; and Barry Wilson, FHKIUD, FHKILA – President, Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design.

When selecting this year’s winners, the five-member jury evaluated overall design achievement, considering formal, functional, and technical requirements; implementation of novel approaches; commitment to social progress and environmental sensitivity; and skill and sensitivity in preservation of existing buildings to underscore the ways that “buildings and spaces can enrich lives.”

In addition, we continued two traditions: one that recognizes individuals and organisations who have made significant contributions in promoting the value of architecture in society and fostering public awareness of issues related to the built environment, and another that celebrates the emergence of young architects by granting awards for scholastic achievement to graduates of Hong Kong universities who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance.

Community Citations are awarded in recognition of distinguished achievements in promoting the value of architecture in society and fostering public awareness of issues related to the built environment. This year’s recipient is:

 AIA Hong Kong Community Citation:

“In recognition of significant contributions in the Chapter’s region for promoting a more sustainable environment by incorporating recycled plastic as the aggregate in concrete pavers, thus creating a fully circular economy for plastic waste and “building a greener future, brick by brick.”

 AIA Scholastic Awards are granted to the most outstanding graduating students in the undergraduate study of architecture at accredited architecture degree programs at Universities in the Chapter’s region. This year’s recipients of Scholastic Award certificates and monetary scholarships are:

 The Chinese University of Hong Kong

  • Anthea Nga Man Cheng

 The University of Hong Kong

  • Moses Ka Mak Fan

 Chu Hai College

  • Tom Ying Wa Chan

Platinum Sponsors

  • The American Hardwood Export Council (AHEC)
  • B.S.C Group Limited
  • DOW Chemical Pacific Limited
  • The Sherwin Williams Company

Silver Sponsors

  • Amtrac Furnishings International Limited
  • Betrue Limited
  • Fresh Accounting Limited
  • M Moser Associates Limited
  • CL3 Architects Limited
  • Skidmore Owings & Merrill

Awards Ceremony on December 4, 2023