AIA Hong Kong

2011 Highlights

[mark color=”red”]Design Awards[/mark]
This year, the jurors selected 10 submissions for Award distinction. Specifically, (4) awards for Architecture including (3) projects which also received Sustainable Design Award, (2) for Interior Architecture, (2) for Urban Design and (4) for Unbuilt projects.

In addition, two recipients of the AIA Hong Kong Scholastic Award 2011 have been selected by the University of Hong Kong and the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

The AIA Hong Kong would like to express sincere thanks and appreciation to the jurors for participation. The jurors for the 2011 Design Awards include:

Mr. Clark D. Manus, FAIA – Jury Chair
2011 National President, The American Institute of Architects
CEO, Heller Manus, San Francisco/Shanghai
Ms. Helen D. Hatch, FAIA
Chair of AlA International Committee, The American Institute of Architects
Principal & VP, Thompson, Ventulette, Stainback & Associates
Mr. Paul Kember, RIBA MCSD
Co-Founder, Director & Senior Architect,
K plus K Associates, Hong Kong
Mr. Dominic Lam, FHKIA
2011-12 President, The Hong Kong Institute of Architects
Managing Director, Leigh & Orange Ltd., Hong Kong
Dr. Peter Cookson Smith, Hon. AlA HK, MHKIP, HKUlD
2011 President, Hong Kong Institute of Planners
Founder, URBIS Ltd.; VP, HKIUD
Mr. Paul Noritaka Tange
President, Tange Associates,
Tokyo, Japan
Mr. Grover C. Dear Jr., FAIA HKIA LEED AP
Co-Chair, Honors & Awards Committee
Managing Director, Archasia Hong Kong
Mr. Gregory Leong, AlA
Co-Chair, 2011 Honors & Awards Committee
Senior Design Supervisor, Parsons Brinckerhoff
Dr. Christine E. Bruckner, FAIA HKIUD LEED AP BEAM Pro
Technical Advisor, 2011 Honors & Awards Committee
Principal, CEBruckner Architect & Sustainability Consultant, HK

[mark color=”red”]Scholastic Awards[/mark]
The AIA Hong Kong is pleased to announce that this year’s recipients of AIA Hong Kong Scholastic Awards are:

Mr. Li Chong Yan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong;
Mr. Lam Kwong Kit, The University of Hong Kong;

[mark color=”red”]Honorary Membership & Citations[/mark]
Shenzhen Vanke Real Estate Co. Ltd.
Mr. Wang Shi, Chairman
In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region for developing the Vanke Center, Shenzhen, designed by Steven Holl Architects as a “horizontal skyscraper” for an office, hotel and exhibition complex that is an innovative hybrid of building, landscape and infrastructure, as well as a triumph of sustainable design.

AlA Hong Kong Honorary Affiliate Membership

Ms. Margaret Brooke, FRICS FHKIS Hon.AIA(HK)
In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region as a professional surveyor and outspken advocate for protection of our built and natural environment through her active leadership with Heritage Hong Kong Foundation, Business
Environment Council, Harbourfront Commission, and other vital community organizations.

Mr. Jason Wordie, Hon.AIA(HK)
In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region as a leading historian, writer and champion for preservation of the built and cultural heritage of Hong Kong and Macao, through his insightful and provocative books and newspaper columns, as well as popular walking tours of these urban environments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *