Navigate / search

2013 Highlights

Design Awards
This year, the jurors selected 12 submissions for Award distinction. Specifically, (1) Honors Awards for Architecture, (1) Merit Awards for Architecture, (1 ) Merit Award for Interior Architecture, (4) Merit Award for Urban Design and (3) Merit Award for Sustainable Design.

In addition, two recipients of the AIA Hong Kong Scholastic Award 2013 have been selected by the University of Hong Kong and the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

The AIA Hong Kong would like to express sincere thanks and appreciation to the jurors for participation. The jurors for the 2013 Design Awards include:

Mr. George H. Miller, FAIA – Jury Chair
Partner, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners LLP
President 2010, The American Institute of Architects
Chair 2015, AIA International Committee Advisory Group

Mr. Mohsen Mostafavi, RIBA
Dean of Faculty of Design
Alexander and Victoria Wiley Professor of Design
Harvard University Graduate School of Design

Mr. George Kunihiro, FAIA
Professor of Architecture, Kokushikan University
Principal Architect and Chairman, T-Life Architecture Collaborative
Director 2013-16, AIA International Region

Dr. Lynne DiStefano, HKICON Hon. AIA (HK)
Adjunct Professor and Academic Advisor
Architectural Conservation Programme, The University of Hong Kong
President, Hong Kong Institute of Architectural Conservationists

Dr. Christine E. Bruckner, FAIA HKIUD LEED AP BEAM Pro
Co-Chair and Technical Advisor, 2013 Honors & Awards Committee
Chair 2013 ICAG; Secretary 2013 / President 2014 AIA International Region

Dr. Sujata Govada, Assoc. AIA
Co-Chair, 2013 Honors & Awards Committee

Mr. Gregory Leong, AIA
Technical Advisor, 2013 Honors & Awards Committee

Scholastic Awards
The AIA Hong Kong is pleased to announce that this year’s recipients of AIA Hong Kong Scholastic Awards are:
Ms. Wu Shuqin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Ms. Cui Yujing, The University of Hong Kong

Honorary Membership & Citations
The AIA Hong Kong is pleased to announce this year’s Honorary Members and Chapter Citations recipients.

AlA Hong Kong Chapter Citation

GWULO: Old Hong Kong
Mr. David Bellis, Founder

In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region for collecting, researching and sharing thousands of historic photographs of our buildings, relics, neighborhoods and people, now preserved in the interactive website,, thereby raising public awareness and appreciation for the physical and cultural heritage of Hong Kong.

Mr. Pan Shiyi, Chairman, and Ms. Zhang Xin, Chief Executive Officer

In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region by one of the most prominent real estate developers in China for their sustained advocacy of innovative architecture in such iconic developments as the Commune by the Great Wall; Jianwai, Sanlitun and Galaxy SOHO projects; among many other property developments.

Project Little Dream
Mr. James Mak, Chairman;
Mr. Francis Wong, Director of Research and Development; Mr. Nelson Huen, Mr. Anthony Chu, Ms. Alison Cheng, Mr. Lam Long Tat, Ms. Tiffany Leung and Ms. Ophenia Wong, Research and Development Officers

In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region by a fully student-run volunteer organization and registered charity that furthers education for underprivileged children in rural Cambodia with both idealism and pragmatism in their ongoing program to design and build schools and communal facilities with sustainable vernacular architecture.

AlA Hong Kong Honorary Affiliate Membership
Mr. Christopher Law, RIBA HKIA Hon.AIA(HK)
In recognition of distinguished achievement in the Chapter’s region for dedicated social activism with community service organizations, sustained commitment to heritage conservation, and early advocacy of intelligent and green buildings such as the INTEGER Hong Kong pavilion and INTEGER Kunming project in China.

Leave a comment